Take the required 16 hour class with one of the best Central Illinois firearms training companies with over 360+ Five Star Reviews!
This course is a PRIVATE EVENT hosted by Minier Christian Church. This course is scheduled for two consecutive Saturday's (June 8th and 15th) from 8:00 - 4:00
Why take our courses?
Our course focuses more than “just what you need to know” to get by, or the absolute “minimum”. We drive home the sincerity and importance of firearm safety, the basic shooting fundamentals, and the proper mindset to confidently operate a firearm. Our instructor cadre provieds Top Tier training with multiple years of experience in military, law enforcement, and civilian agencies.
Our passion, is to instruct people to become confident with their firearm; while responsibly training them to arm themselves and be ‘on watch’ within their community. Our philosophy is simple, the more firearms in the hands of properly trained Shepherds, the better.
What does the cost cover?
This is an all inclusive cost! No hidden fees! Cost covers training, certification, range fees, targets, and even meals! You bring your own factory loaded ammunition! Student still must pay the state for their permit application.
What does the 16 Hour Course cover?
Our curriculum is much more in-depth than what the state requires. We go over the following, and more:
Personal and Home Protection Planning
Home Security and Home Defense
Use of Force Options (Lethal/Non-Lethal)
Defensive Shooting vs Marksmanship Fundamentals
What Happens "After Bang" - The physical, psychological, emotional, and legal aftermath
Gun Storage and Equipment - Holster Selection - Etc.
Malfunctions and Maintenance
Live fire qualification instruction with a concealable firearm consisting of minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police.
Are there ID or minimum age requirements to enter the event?
There is no age requirement for the course, however you must be 21 to apply for a concealed carry permit in the state of Illinois.
I don't have a FOID...or gun, can I still take the course?
Yes, and yes. A FOID is not required to take the course, however you must have a FOID to obtain a CCW permit. We also have a large variety of rental pistols (and equipment) for rent if the student does not have a firearm. Our rentals are $10 paid at the time of class.
What can I bring into the event?
Please bring a positive attitude, a photo ID, a modern, clean, properly maintained serviceable pistol in good working order, at least 100 rounds factory loaded ammunition, and eye & ear protection. Please wear appropriate clothing and closed toe shoes. We provide all that is required for the classroom (student materials, course materials, food, refreshments, etc.) We will not need firearms for the 1st Day of training, however you can bring them to get some practice after the first day of class.
The 2nd Day is Qualification Day - We will be shooting outdoors, rain or shine! So please be prepared!
What's the refund policy?
We do not offer refunds, but we do allow rollovers. Meaning if there is a need to not attend the course, you may roll your slot over to the next available one. The rollover fee is $25.00 per ticket.
Is my registration fee or ticket transferrable?
Yes. You may transfer the ticket to whomever you may wish. This is the easiest way to "gift" a class to someone.